MONO MONDAY - WHAT RHYMES WITH "LUCK"?

The challenge today was to find something to photograph that rhymed with “luck” and today it was quite easy when I saw this pile of rubbish - it’s “muck”!  

After all our clearing out yesterday, we were out of the door by 9.30 am to take the various bags to a local charity shop before going into Jack’s for a coffee.  We decided to take them to DEBRA, the charity I mentioned in my Blip dated 20th November when Heather and her Mum, Wendy, were guests on the “Girls About Town” radio programme. 

There are double yellow lines outside the front of the shop, but we knew there was a back entrance so Mr. HCB just drove round there - but then, we were dismayed to see that right next to their back door was this huge pile of muck!  When I rang the bell and Sarah, the Manager answered, I asked her how long the pile of rotting rubbish had been there and she told me that it was over two weeks now!  There was food, used baby nappies and other foul-smelling stuff, which not only looked and smelled terrible, but is also a health and safety issue, as there could be rats running around before long.

Sarah told me that their landlord for the shop was the same person as for the two flats above, so she had sent a photograph to her Head Office for them to take up the matter on her behalf.  Rubbish bags aren’t that expensive and if the tenants have a small baby, then surely they wouldn’t want that stench coming up into their flat, would they?  Anyway, it made a “mucky” Blip and I didn’t have to look too far.  

We then walked down the hill a little way and I saw Linda Kasmaty, one of the ladies who had also been a guest on the “Girls About Town” radio programme on 17th July last year and her friend, Judith, who were both working away on the garden outside “Mr. Cod”.  It was a very cold morning with a raw and biting wind but they were doing a grand job of tidying the garden and planting primroses.  We were very surprised to see some Penstemon still blooming (the red flowers) and there were other lovely plants too - the sage bushes looked particularly healthy - and what a difference it makes to this little corner of Old Town.  

I couldn’t resist giving both of them one of my little hearts - with the word “Hope” written on them and I told them that we hoped their efforts would pay off and many would enjoy the fruits of their labours! I asked if I could take a photograph and they were happy to pose for me, so you can see them in as an extra. 

All in all a good morning and my hallway is looking good - clear and tidy - so I’m happy and Mr. HCB is happy too, because now he won’t get nagged about taking things to the charity shop!

“The scale of the mess we leave behind 
     is proportionate to the level of respect 
          we have for others.” 
Stewart Stafford

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.