If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lesser Redpoll (Acanthis cabaret)

As is my habit I took a few shots out of the living room window "just in case".   The Red Squirrel was on the feeder so my immediate thought was "well that is blip sorted".  I was wrong!  Moments later an even rarer site greeted my eyes.  Redpolls!

I don't know what has happened with garden birds this year, at this stage of last winter they were emptying the feeder in less than a day.  This year 3 days before it needs filling at least.   Also certain species are missing.  Siskins and Redpolls being notable.  Normally we have both species but more in winter.  It is months since I saw a Siskin and nearly a year since I saw a Redpoll.

Sadly Redpolls in the UK are of Red conservation status.  As they are of least concern in the rest of the world this means they have had a severe reduction in numbers in recent years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.