If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Long-tailed Tit (Aegithalos caudatus)

 Yesterday I commented on a blip that we hadn't had many voleries of Long-tailed Tits through the garden this winter ( I admit I had to look up the collective name for a group of Long-tailed Tits).  This morning I was standing by the window, glanced out and there was our first volery (if your going to look up a name you may as well use it.)

When you start to consider the size statistic of these birds yu realise that they are distinctly unsubstantial.  An adult weighs between 7 and 9 grams (about ¼ ounce).  Their wings are only about 60mm (just over 2 inches) long.   An egg weighs 0.9 g ( I am not even going to try to convert that to imperial weights supposedly the country went metric in the 1970s).

The record age proved by ringing is 8 years eleven months, but a typical life span is 2 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.