Kipsie

By Kipsie

#30daychallenge - Linocut No 1

Phew! Completed. I meant to buy a tube of blue printing ink this morning when I was out, but it totally slipped my mind.
I set off from home early-ish to get down to Yogi for 8.30am. The weather was pretty yucky, visibility on the estuary not very good but I planned to pick up Yogi then go in search of a pretty fungi in the woods at Stover, the locality rather sketchy. Needless to say I did'nt find it, but did have a lovely walk around the lake. Yogi found lots of interesting scents to check out. I don't suppose he'd been there before. Not to many folks about, but then it was pretty dismal. I did meet a lady with two labradoodles wearing Pawaboo halters. I enquired about their effectiveness, she recommended them so I must mention it to Mum for her dog, Indie.
I met a couple of ladies that volunteer at the DPHT for coffee in Bovey Tracey. Confusion, as when Angie rang and enquired about dogs going into Cafe 360, which initially was mixed up with Cafe 64, another cafe in B.T. she was told yes dogs were allowed. We met at Cafe 360. The signage on the window and door stating No Dogs allowed other than guide dogs. I poked my head around the door with Yogi, a shaking head from a waitress was what I expected. Yogi went back to the car, happy with a couple of doggie treats I'd brought for him, & I went back for a coffee & catch up. It was lovely to see them, & very thoughtful of them to call me.
This afternoon I continued to cut my lino design. The tricky bit. Why I made it difficult I don't know. Anyway with a fairly steady hand I finished the cutting, inked & printed it. I even managed to cut around my initials, a real fiddly job, managing to keep them intact. I wanted to print in blue, but it was'nt to be. Next time. The two vases came from the recycle centre. I loved their shapes, patterns, & colours. The jug was a REAL find from the local charity shop in Chudleigh. I spotted the jug in the shop window one morning as I was coming back from my morning walkabout but it was before 9am, so I went on home. I could'nt stop thinking about it so as soon as it was 9 o'clock I wandered up. I paid £3 for it. I did some research when I got home. It has initials and a mark on the base. It's a Ruscha Keramik jug/pitcher made by a West German pottery. I've found the shape but not the actual pattern on-line. Another little gem in my hoard.
I now need to come up with an idea/design for my next linocut. A small one. Well it will have to be small as I forgot to pack blank lino apart from the excess from this one.

Thanks to KangaZu for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.