Spoiled for choice

I've had a fab day exploring the shoreline of the Teign estuary, Shaldon at low tide, so out among the Oystercatchers, gulls and a couple of other seabirds that I have'nt had time to identify,  plus the Ness beach, where I was hoping for some beautiful freshly washed up seaweed, with Yogi for company.

First we went to Hearn field, Yogi ball in mouth as soon as I was up & about made the decision for me. Dropped off back at the house to pick up my camera then we headed down and parked opposite The Martin Gallery (a repurposed red telephone box), on the outskirts of Shaldon. Walked the beach into Shaldon, finding two more pieces of blue & white china. I love the patterns made by the tiny limpets on the shells and tube worm casts on the shells and stones. I was looking for possible lino cut material. We walked up and around then down the tunnel to The Ness beach. Not much seaweed which was a shame but a lovely stretch of beach, some recent cliff fall evident. Back along the road to dry Yogi off a little before stopping at The Clipper Cafe for a coffee. It was a little dull, but mild so we sat outside ..... alone. :- ) Listening to the Oystercatchers calling, the tide was coming in,  a couple of ships out in the bay possibly waiting for the tide to turn. The dock was busy with lorries unloading clay. Stopped and bought a very tasty sausage roll from The Village Bakery, got back to the car, deposited Yogi, took my bag of books across to the Martin Gallery, left 5 that I've read, picked up 4 plus put a £1.50 in the kitty. back to base, first job, shampoo Yogi. He looked rather handsome in his red towelling dogrobe. Then we had lunch. A message from Yogis mum to say they were on there way, so I left at 3.30, dashed to Morrison's picked up some grub, back home, unloaded the car. Hubby has man flu ... :-( Cooked a lovely roast lamb dinner. Just watched The Great Pottery Throw Down. It's only week 1 and Keith Brymer Jones has cried twice already. He is so passionate about his craft, it's quite touching. My eyes may have been watering ...
Got a 9am apt with my ENT consultant tomorrow, so I'd better get to bed.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.