Kipsie

By Kipsie

Rainy day revamp

Measure, cut, TUCK under, staple, measure, cut, TUCK under, staple .... Revamp completed. The base of the divan bed in the spare bedroom has been altered so that all my art stuff stored underneath can now accessed through the side. An easy makeover. A good sharp cutting blade, & upholstery staple gun was all that the job required. I've now measured my stash of frames, the idea being that I will make my linocuts to fit the frames I already have. I do have a "few".

That done, I wanted to start on a lino cut, the aim is to make 15 linocuts in 30 days #30daychallenge. Luna North the linocut artist, that got me started after a 'drop in' workshop at the Devon Guild of Craftsmen is setting the challenge for herself, and invited anyone to join her. I follow her on Instagram, & thought it would be good to challenge myself. I've drawn, traced, transferred, & started cutting my first, I hope to finish tomorrow when I'm over looking after Yogi for a couple of days.

The Corgi brand Eddie Stobart articulated TRUCK was a gift. Strangely enough it was given to me as a thank you for staying late at work many years ago when a delivery of fresh Xmas trees from the above haulage company was running behind schedule. As Planteria manager it was in my interest to hang on for the delivery just as much as it was helping the haulier. I've never taken it out of the box. I guess one day it might be a "collectable". Have I been watching  Antique Roadshow? Of course I have. "If only it was in the box" .... Ha! Ha!  I also have stored in the same cardboard box about 20 Beanie Baby bears, which were collectable, back in the day but I'm not sure about now. A job for another rainy day.

Made pork balls in plum sauce with noodles and stir fried veggies for dinner. I'm gradually working my way through the Thornton's mint collection.  I have'nt thought about cider, but would like to find another non alcoholic drink. The San pellegrino lemon is so sharp, the Bundaberg ginger beer did'nt hit the spot. I'm not a fan of soft drinks, nor water, so looks like it will just have to be more black coffee.

Thanks to laurie54 for hosting Mono Monday for January.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.