Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Remembering dad

My father passed away 2 years ago on January 14th; on a Friday. Amongst his possessions were 3 watches, each with their own little piece of history. I kept 2 of these watches and my brother was given the 3rd.

This Seiko LED is 1 of my 2 watches and I wear it every Friday in memory of my dad. It dates back to the 70s when LED watches were the height of sophistication and this particular model was one of the top of the range Seikos. It was a birthday present to my dad from my mum and I believe cost in the region of £100 which was a lot of money in those days.

To show how times and values change, the same money back then would have brought you an Omega Speedmaster - the watch worn by Buz Aldrin on the Apollo moon mission. Today, one of those 80s omegas is worth over £1000. My dad's Seiko is probably worth £50 - £75.

If only we could predict the winners and losers of the future :-)

And dad, I apologize for the scratches, but at least it is getting worn which is why mum brought it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.