QUITE ARMLESS

Sometimes when you are in the midst of a difficult situation it’s good to look for humour and laughter and today we found both! 

I had to go to Mum’s flat early this morning to be there when the hospital bed, table and pillows, lent to her by the Health Authority were collected. It seemed strange going into a cold and empty flat and after sitting for a few minutes, I decided to do some clearing up in the kitchen to warm myself up so set to and cleaned off the worktops. 

Tipping the water away down the sink, I heard a "whooshing" sound and then found my feet were swirling in water. I quickly grabbed a towel and tried to mop the water up before looking under the sink to find that when the washing machine had been disconnected, the waste pipe hadn’t been capped off! Ah well, at least the floor had an unexpected wash, as did my shoes. 
 
Just as I was paddling in water, the men arrived to take the bed away so as soon as they had gone, and I had finished mopping up the water, I rang Mr. HCB to say I was on my way home. We had planned to go to Marlborough because I was offered a free chocolate brownie at The Food Gallery to celebrate my birthday - and as it would be rude not to accept, off we went.

When we got to The Food Gallery, we decided to “push the boat out” and have toast and honey as well - the good thing about having toast there is that it doesn’t go soggy, because it’s always brought in a toast rack.  The butter and honey were spread on thickly, and afterwards, with my second cappuccino, I enjoyed my chocolate brownie.  I was going to say “It was to die for” but perhaps inappropriate in the circumstances!

Then it was time for a wander round the charity shops of Marlborough - and these aren’t just any old charity shops, these are “upmarket” charity shops - well their prices are - although I couldn’t see any difference in the clothes they sold.  All right they may have a few Jaeger or Phase Eight skirts, tops or trousers, but who sees the label anyway?  

We wandered into other shops too and when I saw these “armless and headless” torsos or torsi, depending on who you are, they “shouted” to be blipped.  So here they are - in all their glory - and they made us laugh and of course, as usual, Mr. HCB had walked away, whilst I was rearranging them!

“There is a thin line 
     that separates laughter and pain, 
          comedy and tragedy, 
               humor and hurt.” 
Erma Bombeck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.