Bangkok day 4

Insomnia meant very little sleep. I think I did doze a bit. It's been a frustrating day in ways connected with things emanating from home. Mobile plans that don't automatically renew, currency cards that differently don't work online and a switched off SIM. Most are resolved, I hope.

It took me till yesterday to realise that Thailand, like Malaysia, drives on the left. Doh! Also today I heard the air quality at one point was this worst in the world, after Canberra and Delhi. I did bring my mask but apart from a slight morning haze I didn't notice anything untoward.

Started the day at the Wat that was closed yesterday for the King. The pot plants were being cleared away. A huge gold Buddha. Later, after a hot walk through a busy Chinatown, an even bigger reclining Buddha. Did a lot of walking today then river taxied home via the Flower Market. A few hours lazing by the pool followed. 38 deg but there was intermittent cloud.

Agonised for ages about a flight then spent more than that on dinner. The stress of sorting out payments and non payments was considerable and involved 2 Skype calls.

Eventually I had dinner by the river, enjoying some 5* luxury. Still not happy at my currency card failing to have the mechanisms to verify online purchases. Grrr!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.