Wet foot

All night and all morning there was torrential rain. I had a meeting with someone about an interesting project to convert an old dangerous armoury into a conservation park and when I left I was confronted with floods of water filling the roads. I had to trudge in the continuing downpour to a place where I could skip across, which wasn’t done without a foot going under the dubiously coloured water whilst being splashed by passing traffic.

It’s so much fun to get into spats with people online who are horrified that Prince Harry and Meghan Markle want some sort of life. The judgement heaped upon them astounds me. He had as little control over the circumstances he was born into as I or anyone reading this.

Now I’m not one to support the casual use of the word disgusting as it’s thrown around far too liberally and should really only be used in the context of visceral gore or exposed organs.

However, Helen Stott of Haydock, who I stumbled upon on a Facebook comment stream, has nailed it:

‘The abuse they have both had is disgusting, people are forgetting that prince Andrew is a nonce, apparently acceptable compared to wanting a life.’

In more general news, I’m horrified by the American government and the sheer arrogance of this latest Trump drivel about his administration’s actions in Iran. As citizens we need to be convinced that military intervention in our name is tightly justified. This has the opposite effect and is just an ego-stroking exercise that is blind to consequences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.