Ready to leap into the water

But it didn't. Instead it relaxed and stayed until at least after I had turned and continued on my circumnavigation of Western Springs Lake. S and our daughters had their nails done today, and the Tsukens went to Mission Bay for the youngest of the family to have a swim, and all to relax in the sun and open space.

I used that time to do the shopping for tonight's family dinner, and then after a sandwich for lunch (a nice fresh multigrain loaf from a local baker) I went to Western Springs, where I was able to see and photograph a number of different bird species. My afternoon started poorly as thefirst bird I saw with intent was a tui which was in a tree just in front of me with the sun on its feathers. And I screwed up the focus totally. That was balanced when a tui flew into a tree beside me just as I had decided to leave and I got three very nice photos, although much of the bird was obscured by leaves.

The papango in my photograph today looked as if it was bothered by me approaching where it was resting. Certainly I expected it to dive into the water, as it adopted a stance not dissimilar to human swimmers in a race. But it relaxed and I was the one to leave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.