Perched on "Kotare Rock"

This morning I delayed going down to Southend of Snells Beach until late mid-morning, to allow enough time after high tide that some of the mudflats would be uncovered. While waiting I finished the Guardian cryptic and a couple of mugs of coffee. And took some photos of the birds visiting the bird table and eating the seeds put there for them.

The second extra is of a juvenile green finch with two adults. The sparrows came and went, usually after a deal of fluttery aggression between sparrow and greenfinch. However, getting a second mug of coffee was interrupted by a bang on the kitchen window. On investigation, I found a juvenile green finch on the deck looking very stunned (first extra). I kept an eye on it and within five minutes it flew away. Only a minute or two later an adult green finch was back at the seed table. I don't know if it was one of the parents, as at one point this morning there were six green finches on the table.

Not a lot of bird life being active this morning. Kotare were an exception to that, and there were many to be seen, heard, and even ducked. One obviously interpreted my presence on the edge of the water as a threat, and zoomed at me with a shriek. Only the once, and I didn't look like the Matuku moana of yesterday's blip when "attacked" by the kotare.

Later, a kotare sat on the eroded rock I have decided should be called Kotare Rock, as almost every time I go there, a kotare is sitting somewhere on this rock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.