How it feels ...

... to be dive bombed by a Kotare.

I imagine that I know how this Matuku moana (Reef heron) felt this afternoon when it was unexpectedly attacked by a territorially protective Kotare (kingfisher). Some years ago, I was subjected to a similar dive by a Kotare; at full speed with sharp beak seemingly aimed at my head. I could not prevent myself from ducking reflexly, so I will never know whether I would have been, hit or grazed. Probably the attack is to instigate a retreat by the offender. That worked in this case as the Matuku moana ran off some distance and then flew away.

(To see how it looks when not subject to aerial attack, look at my blip from two days ago)

We had gone out for lunch. To a wonderful cafe in a little village called Kaiwaka; the cafe is called Eutopia, and has very singular construction and decoration. Nice food, and good coffee.

After getting back, I went down the stairs to Southend of Snells Beach. The tide was rapidly coming in. I hadn't been there long when I first saw a Takapu (gannet), and there followed a large number of shots to try and show the bird soaring and circling (see the extra), diving and leaving the water. I was pleased with my efforts, but none compared with the later change of the heron from a jaunty strut to crouching, reacting and then retreating. No new birds today

ADDITIONAL
Yesterday I submitted my photo from yesterday's blip to the Birds Auckland group, and received a long reply from Michelle MacKenzie, who has lso photographed this particular Kuaka with its tag. She has an interest in and knowledge of the tagging of kuaka. This particular one (and the tag is ABW) was tagged in Queensland in September 2012, and some of its flights and visits have been recorded. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.