Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Experiencing Dawn

... Something I rarely do! What a day to experience it though! If only I'd grabbed a camera as I headed out at 5 am...

G's friend Catherine had an early morning flight. I'd set the alarm for 4:15, but as it happens, I was kept awake a lot of the night by the storm that was raging outside. It wasn't just the thunder, the wind was shaking the eucalyptus tree violently, which made a security light on the opposite building dance on the wall in my room! I was wondering how come I'd never noticed that light before!

The airport drop off went well despite the drizzle, and I reckoned C's flight would take off on time. It seemed to have quietened down a lot after yesterday's mayhem. We were quite close to home when I noticed how incredible the light was. We both reckoned, as we were already up and out, we might as well make the most of it. What I should have done was called in at home to collect a camera.

Our first detour was on to Trade Bridge heading South. I love the views you get on this road. We noted that some towers had lost their red security lights! We then decided to head to the Creek to see if the tide had gone out. The level of the water had reduced by half a metre. Amazing. It was a beautifully cool and fresh morning, with the decades' first full moon thrown in. Actually, I think it's the moon that's causing so much inclement weather at the moment!

On with the tour. The next stop was Jumeirah Beach via City Walk. The white fluffy clouds gave us spectacular lighting and colours! It also started to rain again, so we figured we best head home. Oh, I forgot to mention... G's school messaged to say school has been cancelled for today! Yippee. It is exactly what we need.

We both set to doing tasks to get the flat back to normal. G took down the decorations and I got her room ready, and then reclaimed mine! It took several hours!

The weather kept changing as we worked. Cloudy, sunshine, light showers, heavy showers, we even had hail at one point!! True story! And the temperature has finally gone down enough to sleep without an airconditioner running through the night! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.