Snow!

It started snowing just as I got to school this morning. I deposited the Little Misses in their various rooms and then went home to start the mountain of washing up and tidying that perpetually needs doing in our house.
The snow kept coming and at about Noon I got the inevitable call that school was closing.
When I went out to the car it was under a foot of snow and the driveway was full of snowdrifts and ice. I decided not to venture out as Mr K was on his way from Bicester. Twenty minutes away.
An hour and a half later he finally got back to our house after being sat in near stationary traffic the whole way.
And we set straight off again taking the country lanes rather then the gridlocked main roads.
It was hideous.
Six inches of snow and blizzard conditions. At one point we started sliding back down a steep hill and the bloke behind had to get out and push us before we hit his van.
I was practically hyperventilating thinking we were going to get stuck/crash/have to abandon the car/wouldn't get to school/would get to school and then get stuck in the car with the Little Misses. For hours and hours and hours and hours.
To that end - being the worry-wort that I am - I had packed an emergency bag full of hot chocolate and snacks. And water. And spare socks, hats and gloves.
The journey back from school wasn't too bad though. We stayed on the main roads and the gritters and snow ploughs had obviously been out. Everything was much better.
I had been very sniffy this morning about people who were getting a bit hysterical about the prospect of a bit of snow.
I stand corrected!
And I miss my Land Rover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.