Winter Shadows from Above

It snowed in Paris this evening, more than I had ever experienced before (at least 4 cm/1.5 inches by 11 pm as I post this). We had returned from an outing (see below), and I took many shots from our dining room window--which has the view over Chinatown which I blipped three days ago.

Our street was fascinating in the snow, and I finally decided on this shot directly down on the street (a bit of our building is visible at the bottom)--a child and his parent are passing by. It echoes this sunny view from 2011--do not miss the comparison. And it joins my shadow series (following yesterday's blip as well). I ventured back out afterwards and got many other shots that sorely tempted me, but this one prevailed, in large part due to its direct link to the past.

Our late afternoon outing was to the Jacquemart-André Museum, which was showing an excellent exhbition on Canaletto and Guardi, the leading painters of Venetian scenes in the 18th century. We know them and Venice well, but it was a very worthwhile visit. (Blips from our two weeks in Venice in 2011 start here.)

The year-ago blip also shows our street at night (but no snow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.