A Cheering Visit

This looks like a very similar scene to my blip a few days ago on Jan 9th. That day it was my sister who came for lunch and today it was my friend Jo. Similar menu and the same tulips on the table! I also have 3 poinsettias still doing very well. 2 of them are in this picture. There’s another small one in the kitchen and I bought two small bunches of daffodils this morning so I have plenty of flowers around for these dark January days!

We had arranged a couple of days ago that Jo would come today and I’m so glad we did. Because I woke up to the very sad news that a Denver friend of mine had very suddenly and unexpectedly passed away yesterday. I’d only seen her a few times during the years I’ve lived back in England but she did come visit years ago and I saw her several times this last year. When I was changing my Denver condo from a furnished to an unfurnished rental last summer, she organised and orchestrated the donation of most of the furniture to a family in need. She frequently read and commented on my blips on Facebook and I was hoping to see her again soon when I go back to work and back to Denver. So it was quite a shock to wake up to that news this morning and it’s made me very sad.

So I was happy that a visit from Jo had already been arranged. We caught up on lots of news including the wedding of their son which happened just after Christmas in Columbia! Thankfully Jo had no need to rush off so I was able to enjoy her company all afternoon. Friends are precious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.