Here comes the sun

(Acknowledgements to George Harrison and The Beatles.)

Woken early by the youngest member of the household (Buttercup), and although I might have appreciated a little more sleep, I can't return to sleep at that sort of time. Saw that there was the possibility of a decent sunrise, and so got organised for a walk to the hilltop in the Highfield Garden Reserve, followed by a run to get the Saturday newspaper.

I watched the sky change as the sun neared emergence from behind the clouds along the horizon, and (for me) from behind the wee peninsula east of where I was stood. This photo was taken less than a minute after I saw the first sign of the actual sun disc, and there is still only a small section visible.

We have decided to go to the Matakana Movie Theatre to see Quartet, which requires us to be there at about the time I usually post my blip, so I'm getting in early today.

Better in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.