My View #2

I did know you could bring mobile phones into hospitals now as they have relaxed the laws, so my phone was essential.

Came to Barnstaple hospital in the morning, I couldn't sit down so stood or painfully followed the nurses. I was booked into surgery that afternoon. Burst into tears in front of one of the nurses over my mummy. I'd been in agony for so long, it did not matter anymore.

Finally after a wait, got a bed in the Lundy Ward - most wards named after famous Devonshire people or places. I was right behind the nurses station & tried not to worry so much as this was bed 13!

Then we waited. Every physical examination under the sun, then question upon questions, booklets upon booklets, all while I lay uncomfortably!

Surgeon came to explain what they were doing & said they were ready. No sign for another hour. My dad was livid, then the anaesthetist came to tell me about the 'put to sleep' part as was terrified of that, never had it done, so no idea.

Finally I was wheeled out & at the waiting bay before it took then ages to find a vein. Then an oxygen mask was placed on me & then that was it till I woke up in the recovery room in agonising pain! So was given morphine. Took me ages to wake up they must have given me a huge dose! As my worst fear was waking up in the operating theatre!

Dad left me & I slept. On saline drip & oxygen. A far cry from my original doctors idea of gas & air, little nick, in & out! Yeah right! Low blood pressure through the night & bizarre dreams of my old childhood home in London.

So this was my view after the op & before the long nights sleep. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.