OH WHAT A BEAUTIFUL MORNING.....

oh what a wonderful day..................

First of all I have to say a huge thank you for all the hearts, stars and very kind comments from my last two blips - they really are very very much appreciated.


I had such a good night's sleep last night.  Was asleep by 10.30 and the first time I woke up was 5.30 am - now for me that is amazing as I always wake around 2.00 am no matter what.  I must have needed it.  Then went straight back to sleep and didn't wake until 7.45 - RESULT.  Great night's sleep.

The sun was shining so beautifully and there was such a lovely frost up here in Cumbria so Hubby and I decided to go to Levens Deer Park   Something we've never done.   

Levens Deer Park

We parked in Levens Hall car park as the Kitchens opened again today for the first time since the Christmas break.  We then crossed the busy A6 and took the left hand entrance through a squeeze style (quite a lot of these on the walk, and for me it was a squeeze - still I got through).  The River Kent always being on our right.

Very soon afterwards we came across a head of Fallow Deer - oh boy was I in awe of these beautiful creatures and I was fairly close to them.  Always being mindful of them and not leaving the path though I just stood and stared for a while - this is only way I would ever shoot any type of living creature and that is photographically.

Part of the walk talk us up to Park Head and the very minor country road there, by farm and there was some snowdrops out - so lovely to see.  I did take photos from above 'cos it was too frozen and wet to kneel down, besides I would have had trouble getting back up again!!!

We ended up almost in the village of Sedgwick, crossed a beautiful mini waterfalls and rapids then under the A590 but above the river - never ever knew there was a pass there before and a large pass too - it zigzagged around and there was a beautiful garden just the other side of it - what you never see when driving along the road.

Then across some sheep filled meadows and up to an old bridge which used to go across the Lancaster Canal, so it's a bridge to nowhere now.  No sign of the canal though it's just a very large and beautiful meadow.  

Then back across the A590 this time over the dual carriageway (tooka photo, good job I wasn't wearing a yellow jacket) and eventually back into the park on the other side of the River Kent.  This took us through a very large avenue of beautiful Oak trees.  The river was now on our right and we were above it.

We came across a young family trying to photograph the inside of a tree and looking excited - on enquiry they were geocaching and the children were excited as they'd just found one!!!.

We eventually made it back to Leven Hall car park.  We stopped in The Kitchens for a delicious lunch.  We arrived there about 12.30 (the walk took us about 2.5 hours because of the countless times I detoured or stopped to take photos).  We arrived just in time, because 5 minutes later people were queueing waiting for a table (not big queues but queues nonetheless).

A really lovely walk and the only roads we had to walk were country lanes which were quiet today.  Although you could hear the busy A590 quite a lot up on the meadows.  We were very luck that it was so frosty because otherwise it would have been very boggy in places, we still squelched through a few muddy patches at times.

We were back home by 1.30 and the weather had now changed and it was grey and cloudy.  Can't believe how lucky we were to have such a beautiful morning.  

Levens Park

I couldn't make up my mind which photo to use so I've made a collage of some of them.  Hubby took the one of the back of me stood just enjoying seeing the deer.

Thank you again for dropping by I do love to see your comments.  Take care, stay warm and safe and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.