Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Historic House

Today I visited the Hampton-Preston House in Columbia as they were having discounted tours of the inside of the house for a dollar.    

This house was built a little over 100 years ago in 1818 and was the home of one of South Carolina's richest family.  The house had several additions and several uses including a college and an inn.   The furniture and things in the house are all from somewhere else or reproductions as the last family to live here moved everything out to a different home they owned.     

Yes, that is me swinging on the swing attached to the oak tree!  My friends would not do it but I can't resist a rope and wooden seat swing!

The gardens were blooming with some things I never expected to see.  I put a collage of the flowers in the extras. 
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.