Jacob Epstein's Pietà, Congress House

I questioned at 04:30 this morning whether I am a bit too old for the 'day return trip to London for work'. However, as I blip this from the train just stopping at Newcastle on the journey north again, I conclude that I still have the energy for such craziness! Several people who attended the same meeting as me today in London travelled yesterday and stayed in hotels last night, but had I done so, I would have missed out on all the fun and games (literally) at our Sunday lunch party.

My blip is of Jacob Epstein's Pietà at Congress House, the venue of today's meeting. The sculpture is a memorial to the dead trade unionists of both world wars. The hexagons form the roof of the conference centre below. It was here that the plenary sessions were held this morning.

It was a good meeting spent mainly planning a huge amount of work to which I will be committed from December 2020 to October 2021. Any academic reading this will know what all this is about ;-)

My extra shows the sunrise from the train just south of Nottingham this morning.

Exercise today: walking (14,594 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.