Sonning Snowdrops

I went to Sonning-on-Thames for my walk this afternoon. I was there 2 weeks ago and the snowdrops were just coming out so I wanted to see them fully open today. There were several snowdrop ‘carpets’ in the churchyard. So lovely! There’s also a fruit tree in the churchyard that is in full bloom. It was a beautiful sunny day and not very cold, so it’s easy to believe that spring is just around the corner!

We’ve had SO much rain, though! I knew I wouldn’t get very far along the river. I made it to just beyond the lock before the path was too much under water. (Middle picture on the right). At one point I was standing in the water (with wellies on, of course!) and it felt like I was actually standing IN the river.

I walked back the other way towards Sonning Bridge, made up of several arches. There is one last arch to the right of this view - when not flooded you can walk through the arch to continue along the Thames path. I think anyone who tried that today would find the water up to their armpits if not their chin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.