First Sighting

I met a friend in Sonning-on-Thames this afternoon for a walk. We found just a few snowdrops already out in the churchyard. These on a grave, and a few off in the distance under a tree. It won’t be long before there’s a carpet of them. I must remember to go back when they’re all out!

We walked along the river and caught up with our news from Christmas. See Extra photo collage. The top left is a stretch of the Thames with a narrowboat which looks as if it’s a permanent home. The other three photos in the collage are not the river, or a lake! At least not a permanent lake - they are views of the sunset over the flooded meadows between the river and Thames Valley (business) Park just outside of Reading. How convenient to be flooded to provide me with some lovely sunset views!

We returned to my house for tea and cake and later on some pizza. We worked on my puzzle for a short time and also worked on our knitting and crochet.

In other news - it was stage 6 of the 7-day Tour de Ski. Today’s races were sprints in the classic style. They are fast and furious and anything can happen right up to the last minute - and they did! Trips and falls and collisions just add to the drama. My favourite from the US - Jessie Diggins - made the podium today. With a photo finish she made third place. The men’s was equally drama filled. My friend had never seen any Cross-Country skiing so I played her some snippets from catchup and she was amazed at what incredible athletes they are and how exciting it is to watch. We could count the number of skiers on the British team on one hand, so it’s never shown on terrestrial TV here. I wish more people knew how exciting it is to watch! I’m sure glad my Swedish friend introduced me to it.

See a short video of today’s women’s final here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.