Lantern Pike 20/1/20

A completely unplanned circular walk from Little Hayfield. I saw a place to park the car stopped put my boots on and climbed the hill.  The photo is the view to Kinder Scout from the top

It would seem news of my decline has been exaggerated (by me!)  90 minutes walk up and down and I felt champion.

The clouds cleared the light improved.  Some interesting chirrup bird calls around the top but I couldn't work out what was making them never saw them. Plenty of Thrushes on the way down and many birds mostly common birds but including Great Spotted Woodpecker and Nuthatch at lower levels.

Extra photo:  hill top pillar and view to Cown Edge

The Text on the pillar is as Follows:

Lantern Pike

This hill indicator and the hill on which it stands were purchased by many friends as a memorial to
Edwin Royce
Born Slaithwaite 1880 died Manchester 1946

In memory of his labour in the cause of securing the freedom of the hills. Erected 1950

Re-Erected 1986 by The Ramblers Association ( Manchester Area), The Peak and Northern Footpath Society and the National Trust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.