21012020

We woke up around 4 am to a very scary thunder storm. Third one in 1,5 days. It was truly pounding on us. It was on top of us nearly 2 hours. It was like we were being bombed. Buddha was losing his mind. And even Nelson was lifting his head for the racket. Amadeus, who does not hear so well anymore, kept on snoring.

I sat with the dogs and kept on checking the lightning map for the storm to pass us, but it was at least 600km long. It went from Cartagena to Barcelona. Finally around 6 am we got some really close calls, which really lifted my hair in the air, and then it died. What a night!

We got about 70mm of water in about 2 hours. After that it's been very grey but without any drops.

And just to not let us come back to normal, we have Sahara dust approaching us from Sunday to Monday. Also this rain we got was somewhat muddy. Cars are dusty as is anything that was left outside.

We took a walk to the beach. I was sad to see that the lifeguard shack that has lasted so many storms (because it's made of Koskisen plywood from Finland) had come to the end of it's life. It was still standing, but one wall was down and another had a whole in it.

Since September when we had the first huge storm, this was the third one. So even Finnish wood had to surrender before nature's force. They said that the power of the waves was around 150Kw (if I get it right from my memory). It says nothing to me, but my husband assured me that it's a lot of horsepower. I'll take his word.

Btw, I got a new blood pressure measuring device today. My old one was 10 years old and it measures from the wrist which I was told is not so accurate. So the the new one talks to my phone. I get all the results to my app and I can send all in pdf to my email, which I can print for the doctor. Pretty cool, huh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.