Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Early Eight

Yardbird #8 for the year, the American Goldfinch.  And you may notice that it is already starting to molt into its summer outfit, showing some splashes of bright yellow.  Hence the adjective "early".  They are tiny little birds and the only N. American finches to go through two complete molts each year.  Their winter wardrobe is rather drab but by mid-spring the males will be the color of lemons with little black caps and wing-bands. Very sporty.  I will tag one later in the year for a visual record of summer vs winter plumage.  

And, oh yes, the hawk is still around.  I saw him strafe the feeders this morning, unsuccessfully.  Mixed feelings on that as I know if he doesn't eat, he will die.  

Hubs and I hit the gym today.  I inched the speed up on the treadmill just a bit, to 3.2 miles per hour.  Still slow, but faster than last week.  After a mile, I went into the weight room and did upper and lower body.  I'm very happy that I didn't lose much muscle at all during my forced time-out.  Surprising, actually.

Although I know it's going to annoy me, I am planning to watch some of the Impeachment proceedings. As seems to be the norm lately, I find myself very aggravated with both parties.  And don't get me started on the embarrassing "prophets of doom" speech in Davos this morning.  It is beyond me how anyone can still ignore climate change.  As Greta Thunberg said, the world, "in case you hadn't noticed, is currently on fire."  Okay, back under my rock...

Thanks for stopping by.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.