Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Abstract Waves

Thanks to Ingeborg for providing me with inspiration today.  I rarely do abstract images but found that I wanted to do something today that incorporated some of the beautiful colors from yesterday's inauguration, in particular some of the colors the women wore. So I found some crayons, set them up in my light box on a mirror and shot the reflection.  Then a trip into PS to add waves.  I obviously have quite a lot to learn about creating wave effects, but I think this will do for my first attempt.  (suggestions welcome).

I awoke this morning feeling ... lighter.  I don't know how else to describe it.  We are still a deeply divided nation, and Covid is still running unchecked across this country, but I still feel lighter, more hopeful.  

Yesterday was such a special day for many of us - a day of pageantry, but also a day of great hope, a day of words of peace, a day of celebration. Hubs and I were glued to the coverage until the last song was sung at 10 PM last night.  I loved seeing how they managed the inauguration party virtually.  And for me, one of the most poignant moments of the evening was when Yolanda Adams sang Hallelujah in the remembrance of the over 400,000 Americans who've died during the Covid pandemic.  That song has always been a personal favorite of mine, and to hear and see it being sung in that setting ... well, there were some tears.  If you missed it, you can have a watch HERE.

Thank you for the overwhelming response to my Blip yesterday - and thank you for the kind and loving comments, for joining in the celebration.  

You know what to do... be safe and be kind and don't forget some chocolate from time to time.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.