Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Let Freedom Ring

I knew I was going to watch the inauguration today, so I ran a few quick errands this morning before the coverage began.  On my way home, I drove past an American Flag and I immediately knew exactly what I wanted to blip today.  So a quick trip home to grab a camera and back to the spot.  I shot this with a very slow shutter speed and incorporated some movement, a technigue called ICM/In-Camera Movement.  Then I did a few edits and a crop in LR.  And this is exactly what I wanted.  

I feel lighter today than I've felt in months.  For me personally, Trump was a horribly divisive president (with respect to those who like him, which is their right).  So watching and listening to Joe Biden with his calming voice and message of inclusion was incredibly emotional.  And when the the US Poet Laureate Amanda Gorman read her "The Hill We Climb" I had a lump in my throat.  If you missed it, you can watch it HERE.  And then there was the moment of watching the US install its first woman (and woman of color) as the Vice President - well, I'm filled with hope.  

Let's hope this next chapter in American History is one that sees our country begin to heal.

Be kind, be safe, eat chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.