Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Thump!

Many of you know the sound - that awful “thump” when a bird hits a window. We don’t get many window hits here, and they usually occur when a hawk strafes the feeders. Not sure what caused this, but it was a solid hit and when I saw the little Downy Woodpecker spread-eagled on the deck, I was not optimistic. But I grabbed my “rescue box” and zipped out, gathered him gently in one hand, placed him in the box and then left it in a patch of sun for 20 minutes. When I carefully opened the lid, he seemed alert, but didn’t fly. So I gently scooped him up and held him in front of me so I could look for any visible signs of injury. And then he gave my finger a hard peck and flew off into the woods - apparently fine.

And I smiled, happy with myself for doing a good deed.

Other highlights of the day...

I met up with one of my birder friends for a mile or so walk - it was really cold, but we had fun and found 19 species.

I glanced out the window to see a female Cooper’s Hawk having a drink from the patio bird bath. She then hopped around and scoped out the bushes for a snack before flying off.

The white junco is still around, and the Gang of Five was seen in the garden eating cracked corn.

Tomorrow I am planting myself in front of the TV and watching the 46th President and Vice President of the United States be sworn I to office - I am thrilled.

Safe. Kind. Chocolate!

Xo
Debbi

PS - for those who are wondering, my rescue box is a shoe box lined with soft paper towels which I leave on a shelf in the garage. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve used it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.