X marks the spot!

Over to The Folks this morning and all is OK over there. My Mum's over her cold - or whatever it was, thank goodness! My Dad said that they came and mended the gas-fire - again arriving exactly at lunchtime the same as the electrician did. My Dad thinks there's some sort of conspiracy and they know when he's about to eat! He wasn't surprised today when another - unexpected this time - council employee turned up at lunchtime to do an "energy survey". I was about to leave for the shops at that time, but I asked to see the guy's I.D. He was a bit sarky about it, but I thought that was what they encouraged people to do - especially when it was an unscheduled visit!

Anyhow, otherwise the visit went without a hitch. There was bowls on TV, which always goes down well with my Dad! He'd actually played - and beaten- one of the players involved today many years ago in a tournament at Skegness, when the now star of the sport (Is bowls a sport?) was an up-and-coming junior!

While I was over there I got a migraine and did not have any of my tablets with me, so my dad gave me some of his moose-stunning-strength ones. They did the trick, but left me a bit spaced out! I did not feel like doing my Blip when I got home!

I didn't feel like going to work either, but no choice there! Last night we'd had some drama in the shop. There's a guy who, despite not being short of a bob or two, hangs around at the end of the night to get cheaper chips if we have any left at closing time. He is getting cheeky and never uses the shop as a normal customer. He seems to see it as his right to get cheap stuff. He's also spread the word to a couple of other people, who have, in turn spread the word. Last night, we ended up with a very rowdy bunch in the shop - to cut a long story short we almost had a riot on our hands. So I decided the whole thing has to stop!

Tonight I made very sure there was as little left over as possible and decided to go back to the smaller reductions my boss used to give. But it turned out I had no leftovers and no-one turned up tonight anyway! We'll see what tomorrow brings...

Tonight's main drama was Amir's keys being missing at the end of the night! I had put them in my pocket when I unlocked the door and forgotten about them. We were worried that we'd left them on the counter and a dodgy customer had pocketed them! It was such a relief to realise I had them all along.

These flowers are from a plant growing on a grass verge in Meg, and the only photo I took on a very misty day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.