Rachmaninov Rehearsal

Not what I thought I'd be doing this evening...

I thought I was booked by a camera club to do a talk for them on my A panel. This morning I just checked their website to get address and time to see in their programme another speaker listed. I checked my booking email - definitely the right date and place. Contacting the lady who had booked me (ages ago) she had not followed through with the admin and, in due course, another speaker had been booked. She was most apologetic but it was annoying to say the least, especially as I had turned another booking down.

I am not that bothered about doing talks for clubs. It's another reason to be out for an evening and I am out a lot with judging and other commitments. I still want to maintain my other interest of choral singing and this has taken rather a back seat lately. So instead of presenting to a camera club I went to a rehearsal of Chiltern Chamber Choir.

I haven't sung there for a few months with holidays (mainly) taking out too many rehearsals. It was really lovely to be back and welcomed by everyone. A few new faces in the choir but otherwise all much as it was.

The next concert includes Rachmaninov All Night Vigil. Stunningly beautiful. BUT it's in Russian. My knowledge of that language is zero. So the hardest part will be just learning how to say the words - fortunately I don't have to know what they mean. We have some learning aids on the choir website so I shall have to get stuck in! I'll miss the next two weeks' rehearsals with judging but after that... No more Thursday evenings anywhere else but CCC!
Towards the end of the rehearsal I remembered I had not taken any images at all so quickly grabbed this as our conductor was berating us for something, so not his best pose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.