SILLY SATURDAY - HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MUM!

I couldn’t find a photograph of Mum ready for a party, so decided to use this one instead - and I have no doubt my sister, Karen, will kill me when she sees it, but hey, Mum would be pleased to see her party gear being used!

Mum liked nothing better than to get dressed up and the more outlandish she looked, the better she liked it - so as today would have been her 96th birthday, in honour of her, here is my sister and me, in some of her party gear.  When we were clearing out her flat, we found lots of stuff like this so I put on the wig, Karen put on the hat and huge glasses - and as we were laughing, I decided to take a selfie - and of course, it’s just right for Silly Saturday.  I’ve “tarted up” the photograph and put a frame on it - which was done today - so here we are, "Ready to Party!" You will be pleased to know we drew the line at wearing her tartan skirt and any of her other outlandish gear!

I know that Karen is going out later with her daughter, Jolene and Jolene's husband David, along with their daughter, Amelia and son, Jack, who is 17 tomorrow - so hope they all have a good time - and a special “Happy Birthday” to Jack, who I understand has his first driving lesson the following day.  I’m sure they will remember Mum as they celebrate and one or two glasses of alcohol may be imbibed!

We are going out with our son, Martyn, for lunch at a pub near to where he lives, so no doubt we, too, will raise a glass to Mum today, on what would have been her 96th birthday.  I guess I should dress up in something suitably silly, but if I did, then no doubt both Mr. HCB and our son would disown me!

The lovely flowers we received earlier in the week are still looking good, so I have taken a shot of them together with the photograph given to us by the Funeral Directors and you can see that in as an extra, so Happy Birthday, Mum from all the family - we hope you’re having a good party! 

“It’s time to drink champagne
     and dance on the tables.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.