These Boots Were Made For Walking

Miss E took this picture of her feet on Hadrian’s Wall this afternoon and I love it. They are very grown up feet!
And the boots aren’t so new any more!
We’ve had a lovely day today.
After a lazy start and the obligatory holiday Choconut pillow cereal we headed off along the fabulous Roman road running along beside the wall.
I have been getting increasingly giddy with my Game of Thrones analogies and I could barely contain my excitement as we drove past Sycamore Gap. It’s the edge of Empire I kept squealing!!!
I could practically see the Roman Legions marching across the landscape.
And the White Walkers on the other side......
We drove to Housesteads and parked in the handy giant campervan bays.
I’d read in the English Heritage book that dogs weren’t allowed in the fort so we left Archie in Marshall and set off up the hill to the fort.
The whole of Rome stretching out behind us, Wildlings ahead!!!!
It was all I could do to stop myself screaming Winter is Coming to anyone in earshot!!!!
I know.
It was such an atmospheric place. A lovely little museum with interesting artefacts, a video showing how it would have looked two thousand years ago and obviously the fort itself.
And the views, and the Roman toilets with Roman plumbing.
And the Roman central heating.
And the not Roman flask of tea.
It was ace!!!
After we’d had a lovely wander around - and noticed all the dogs having a lovely wander too......  we walked all the way back down the hill to get Archie and all the way back up the hill to go for a walk along the wall and off into the sunset.
There’s a section you’re allowed to actually walk on. With a nerve wracking drop in parts!
As the sun was setting. Amazing!!!
Then it was back to the campsite to feed the llamas and donkeys, Dragon Warriors, bread and cheese and bed.
Bloody love it here!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.