Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Year of the Rat

I am blipping on the day! (I've got four days of blips to catch up with, but they will be done tomorrow).

Today has been non-stop. G has taken on a child to tutor at home on a Saturday morning for 90 minutes. Ugh. I guess it's the perfect time for me to do some ironing. I used the time to chat with my sister, SweetArt in Hong Kong. I think it's been three weeks since we last chatted. Badness.

Tutoring and ironing finished, we had lunch before heading out to an old, historic part of Dubai to meet up with a lady who we met at Global Village and keep in touch with when she is here running her shop. She has had a huge tragedy in her family and the incident has become a police case. We got one of our SA officer's involved to see how we can help her. It was a tough meeting but I'm glad I went along.

Back home again briefly and then we headed to City Walk to see what they have for Chinese New Year. G read of a few events on their website. It was a bit different on the ground, but hey-ho. We enjoyed walking around on a remarkably cool and clear evening, taking in the sights and sounds and colours. City Walk is so high-tech, I'm always trying to capture the lights as the eye sees them.

We were heading back to the car when we saw four dancers waiting to come out, so we stayed to watch them. The gold dragon entertained the kids as it went around, willingly posing for photographs! It's been our first weekend without visitors since Christmas!

PS. I was born in the Year of the Rat!
PPS. My extra is of a typical street scene in the City Walk area.
PPPS. We popped into Roxy Cinema and I noted that like The Lion King, Disney have remade Mulan using CGI. I hope they've done a better job on it than The Lion King!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.