Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Always read the small print!!

So annoyed at myself: when I shop these days I am always on the lookout for yellow label discounts on produce at or near sell by/use by dates. So I was pleased to be able to pick up some mini white puddings at 47p (reduced from £1:58). One of these was used to create the most delicious, comforting meal last night: beetroot, white cabbage, quinoa and white pudding followed by summer berries and stewed prunes and apricots topped with oatbran and Greek yogurt. It was only when I was logging my meal in the MyFitnessPal app that my satisfied and accomplished mood was shattered. Who would have believed that a small 200g white pudding contained 1438 calories!!! With the recommended potion size only 20g. So my meal last night had undone my efforts to have a calorie deficit of at least 500 calories as rather than a deficit I posted an excess of more than 500 calories!!
What makes me feel even worse is that I gifted one of these reduced price mini white puddings to my oldest brother Jock and he is in need of a calorie deficit more than me!!
Moral of this Blipfoto is that you always should read the small print and not be distracted by the headline. I was so keen to purchase when I saw the reduction that I did not look at the nutritional information. If I had I would never have purchased. Today I limited my reduced price buys to vegetables for the week ahead and some sausages (vegan and pork).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.