Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another iconic view and more

Most of us were up and out at 0630 for a dawn shoot in St Mark's Square. This classic shot is taken with a slow shutter speed so the boats are blurred due to movement.. It was magical light and hard to do justice to it.

An Italian came to talk to me while I was working. When he heard I was from Northumberland, he told me how Hadrian waged war on the Jews. He knew all about the ultra orthodox community in Gateshead. I had no idea that there were Romano-Jewish wars, but there were.

Later, after an excellent breakfast. we walked to the ferry terminal for Burano. This small island is packed with houses painted in all the hues of the rainbow. I met a man who showed me a photo he took of Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip when they visited Burano. I think that was 1961. Then there was a couple celebrating their golden wedding. She persuaded him to pose for me! Then there was the fisherman who was mending nets and who showed me how he does this.

Late afternoon we were at the Academia Bridge for another classic view. I think I will have to post some images on Blipfolio when I get home.

Apologies for lack of comments. I'm being kept very well occupied in Venice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.