Big Garden Birdwatch 2020

Heavy rain and strong winds didn't put off too many of our regular feathered visitors, though some were latecomers and fewer in number - notably the goldfinches and blackbirds. But here were my numbers for today's Big Garden Birdwatch 2020:

4 blue tits
2 great tits
8 sparrows
4 chaffinches
5 greenfinches
1 robin
1 dunnock
1 woodpigeon
2 goldfinches
1 blackbird

No sign of the collar doves, magpies or wren. But the magpies would have spotted me through the window, so I'm not surprised they kept their distance.

I noticed one male greenfinch feed a sunflower seed to a female - courtship feeding, I presume, though I've only ever observed it between robins before today.

A couple of the male chaffinches had a few mild scuffles - well, they bounced each other even though there were plenty of scattered suet sprinkles and seeds for all.

Sparrows were the hardest to count as they arrive in such numbers and are gone as fast as they arrive in one big swoop. I'm fairly confident of the number, though, as I did a couple of recounts, counting males and females separately, and they kept adding up to eight - evenly shared between the sexes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.