Big Garden Birdwatch 2019

This is the weekend of Britain's Big Garden Birdwatch when you sit for an hour and count all sightings of birds in your garden (or a place nearby) and record the numbers of each species you spot. They must land in your garden, not simply fly over, to count.

As usual on Birdwatch weekend, the weather has turned temperamental. So I did my count early this morning before the winds grew to gale-force. Again, as usual, some species that I see regularly didn't turn up in the hour of my watch, but such is life. Nevertheless, I counted ten different species - six blue tits being the most numerous today, with goldfinches a close second. The smallest number was a solo wood pigeon.

If you decide to do a count, make sure it's for a full hour, and send your recordings to the RSPB.

Birds or no birds, have a lovely weekend, blipmates. Keep warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.