We did'nt see the kingfisher by the lake

this morning on our soggy walkabout. The forecast was grim, I donned my Oz beanie pulled my waterproof jacket hood over and did'nt have to wipe my glasses once while we were out so that was a result.  Low tide 12.30ish so we did'nt race off at break neck speed more a leisurely bimble. Cockington church bells were ringing as we entered the park, they sounded lovely. Not many folks around well it was piddling down, so thought there might be the slightest chance of spotting a kingfisher at the lakes, but no, so we wandered down through the water meadows to the seafront. I had spotted a Derelict Sunday opportunity when down a couple of days ago. It was still there, the tide was still well in so we did'nt venture down onto the beach. I took a couple of shots then we walked along, spotted 3 Oystercatchers down on the rocks below as we passed, then down onto the next section of beach, Torre Abbey sands to another Derelict Sunday subject that I'd had in mind for quite awhile, but before reaching these beautiful railings Millie and I went down onto the beach. I could not believe the amount of tiny plastic particles that smacked you right in the face. They were everywhere, but so small that they were not easy to pick up. It was lashing with rain but I picked up bits for 5 minutes but with only my pocket to carry the plastic I had to stop. In Thailand I would pick up discarded odd flip flops, lighters, M150 (similar to Red Bull) glass bottles. Large items but very little like this. Millie was doing her own beach tidying eating the seaweed, another reason to stop. We sheltered  under the overhang from the boarded beach cafe, I tied Millie up then managed to dodge the rain long enough to get a few pics of the railings. I love all the colours. The turquoise, bright blue, yellow. the rust .. I love it all. The colours of kingfisher plumage in fact. It is a shame the council don't give them a coat of paint and smarten them up I suppose. Not enough money in the Torbay Council pot I guess. My photo has'nt really done them justice so I might just have to go back on a sunny day and have another go. A couple of hours after returning the sun came out but I was settled in, still trying to get my waterproofs dry so was'nt going anywhere. Added a few Spottings to my Project Noah page.Spotted a female Blackcap feeding on the fat & seed filled coconut hanging outside the kitchen window. Think that may have been a first for me. I actually got a decent photo through the glass which was helpful when identifying it. Eaten up the orts tonight as I'm back home again tomorrow evening. Watched Countryfile, I love Adam & his way with  animals, Addicted to Sheep on BBC4 next , an interesting programme, then Inside Iceland: Britain's Budget Supermarket, also interesting, especially how they are tackling reducing plastic packaging. Quite a surprise for Sunday night viewing.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.