Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

From lock to lock

First thing this morning I had an appointment to visit the doggy day care place to see if I liked it - I did and I think I will be using it in the future. They collect the dogs, take them to the centre which is a farm where they have a huge amount of space to run around (but under supervision) have a scheduled rest time and snack, and then more play time before being washed and brought back home to me. Sounds ideal! 

As I was in Ripley I decided to walk with Xena from Walsham Lock which is at Ripley Weir, along the tow path to Newark Lock. It is a very pretty walk with stunning scenery of the canal boats and trees reflected in the still water. Unfortunately it was very muddy so I had to be careful not to slip. This is a view of the lock keeper's house and weir. We passed a few fishermen along the way and Xena nearly jumped in when she saw some huge geese (see extra). 

I walked as far as the next lock where you get lovely views across the canal of Newark Priory. This is on private land so you cannot access it. It was built around 1189 and was disestablished in 1538 when Henry XIII ordered the dissolution of the monasteries.

Last night before we went to bed Gavin realised that he had lost his wallet with his bank cards and driver's licence in it. Not ideal timing as he leaves tomorrow to go away for for work and needs his bank cards. We decided not to cancel the cards in case the wallet turned up as he was convinced he had dropped it at the movies yesterday and wanted to phone them first before cancelling the cards. After my walk I popped into the village to get some groceries and while I was there I had a quick coffee. Imagine my surprise when I reached inside my bag to get my purse out to pay for the groceries and there was Gavin's wallet! I think it must have fallen out of his jacket pocket when he took it off at the movies yesterday, and it fell into my bag which was on the floor!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.