Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The Usual Suspects

When the sun's out, especially after a dull patch, the residents of the Reserve enjoy displaying themselves.  That's often when I've had the best wildlife sightings so, with a blue sky, I was hopeful I would see a good variety this morning.  I didn't, it was just the usual suspects.  And not long after I got home the clouds pulled over again and it poured.

Still I had a very enjoyable walk and got quite caught up in watching Mrs Mallard grooming herself in the middle of a flooded piece of marshland.  What a pretty lady she is.

Thank you for your very kind messages to Hazel.  I'm glad to say that with the steroids and cream for her sores, she is very much better today.  It's quite extra-ordinary how quickly the inflammation goes up and down.  We are now working on the basis it might be
a) bread, which she likes to sneakily pick up in the park from sandwich crusts and the stuff people throw down for the ducks (she won't be going back to the park for a while, it will be other walks).  Or
b) dog shampoo.  Although we have very good gentle shampoo, there are reasons for thinking it isn't good for her.  So any washing will be with water only.
Keep your fingers crossed for her ;))

And have a happy evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.