Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

I was sipping my first cup of tea, looking out the window when I suddenly saw commotion around the two nest boxes in the garden next to the patio.  To my surprise, there were five Eastern Bluebirds fluttering around, in and out.  One male and the rest appeared to be females so I'm guessing they were looking for a spot to roost at night.  I snapped this through the window so it's not a crisp shot, but I wanted a record as I don't think I've seen bluebirds the garden this early.  I wonder what they thought when they found all the sawdust on the bottom of the boxes?  (The Downy Woodpeckers roost in my boxes in winter, and they always chisel out a bit of the inside of the box to make a layer of sawdust on the bottom.)  Anyway, nice way to greet the day.

No sooner had the bluebirds flitted off then my parents called, so my lovely morning got even better.  Very nice chat with them - they've arrived at their AirBnB in Yuma, Arizona where they will spend the next few weeks.  Dad texted some photos a few hours later as they were out walking featuring glorious blue skies and flowers.  I'm green with envy.

No sign (or sound) of the Barred Owls last night, alas.  Quite possible that they were just in the area that night hunting.  They generally stake out an area of roughly six miles as their year-round territory and there are some prime spots nearby that would fit all their criteria.

I am not including this photo in my YardBirds collection as I know I will get much better photos when spring arrives and the nesting season gets underway.  

Thanks for the good wishes on my old bones yesterday.  Things are healing nicely, although slower than I'd like.  Eventually I will be good as new.

xo
Debbi

Fitness notes:  1.25 miles on the treadmill and a pace of 3.4 MPH, representing an increase of .2 miles.  Foot felt pretty good although still some minor pain on impact.  Followed the treadmill with upper and lower body weights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.