The second half of life..

By twigs

Juvenile Tomtit

A night in Haast would hardly be a night in Haast without rain.  After the lovely afternoon and evening yesterday I was woken several times overnight by the sound of rain on the roof.  No surprises that it continued to rain on (mostly) and off all the way to tonight's stopping spot at Cameron's Flat.  I've been dragging my heels a little these past few days, partly because I want to be in Wanaka for Tuesday and partly because I've been loving the Coast atmosphere, rain and all.  

It always amazes me how the weather can change so much from the west side of the divide to the east, and so it was today.  The rain before reaching Haast Pass was persistent.  Here now on the east, it's cloudy but (touch wood) no rain.  They've been having some fairly warm, sunny days over this side so I'm hoping the rain and grey from the west will be replaced by sunshine and warmth.

Stopped at the head of the pass for a walk through the bush.  I misread/misunderstood the sign and ended up turning back after about 30 or 40 minutes.  Good job too......otherwise I'd have ended up at another car park much further along the road!  The pay-off though was that I met this wee chap on the return.  A very friendly wee thing that I believe to be a juvenile tomtit.  The reason I think juvenile is because he appears not to have brushed his hair when he got up this morning and has cot-hair plus a few random bits and pieces in his barnett too (see extras) - Teejay - looking for your expert eye to confirm or otherwise here!)  Also in extras is another tomtit, though he appears a bit more adult.

Tonight's stopping spot as Cameron's flat.  I've stayed here before and it was lovely - only a small handful of others, quiet and overlooking the valley I've just driven.  Oh my - how thing shave changed!  There must be a dozen or so large camper vans and another dozen or so cars/small campers.  I see that over the road there's a massive development too.  It could be more parking as it's a large, sealed area that, as a guesstimate, looks like it would easily hold 50 or more vehicles.  The Blue Pools are a short walk from here and this is the parking area that many people visiting the pools use.  If it's to be a replacement camp area though I'm not sure I'd like it nearly so much.  Time will tell.

Over and out for another day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.