The second half of life..

By twigs

Stinking hot

Day began early-ish so I could make it back to the panel beaters for 8.30.  All good and within 20 or so minutes the offending tape was removed and 'proper' glue used to attach the wayward windscreen piece securely.  A simple half hour job that took a year!  

Off then to Pukaha but not before exploring a very nice looking shoe shop in Masterton.   Sadly, no purchase there, but I explored a little further afield and ended up buying some trusty jandals instead.  I just needed something to give my feet some air in this hot weather.  Speaking of which, Masterton apparently made it to 36 degrees today.  The thought of walking too far - in fact doing anything - in the heat lead me to the early afternoon decision that I would check in early at Eketahuna campground, catch up on some laundry and enjoy a long, cool shower.  Bliss!  My washing line was very makeshift including using my tripod to act as a (very poor!) clothes prop,

I stayed here last time I was up this way and vowed then I would return.  It's a gorgeous, park-like ground, super-friendly, cheap, fantastic facilities and absolutely wonderful hosts.  And the added bonus this time around is there's hardly anyone here :)

Birds tomorrow - in cooler weather I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.