Post Box and Pizza (widwed290120)

We were in Warwick this afternoon and I thought a low level view of the East Gate and one of the fluted post boxes would make a good subject for Wide Wednesday.   The lady with the pizza was an added bonus :-)

A passer by was keen to tell me there is another one (fluted post box) at the West Gate and didn't get the hint when I explained 'thank you -  I live locally.'  I had thought me kneeling on the pavement with the camera on the ground might have indicated I had found the point of view I was after - but no - he was almost insistent to TELL ME I WANTED the Roman date figures ... around the top of the box.   I did wonder if I should just photograph them to make him happy but he walked off in a grump before I could stand up.  The East gate is at the top of Smith Street,  at the other end we found a coffee shop we hadn't tried previously, Happy Puccia run by someone who moved here from Puglia five years ago. When we explained we were thinking of going to Italy in the motorhome she showed us a few guide book images of the area and made it sound quite attractive - and not at all in an insistent manner :-)

A short article on the boxes here

The chapel on top of the gate has been converted into a holiday home, and is available to rent.

Thanks to Rock Area for hosting wide Wednesday this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.