Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Masked Booby #14

Today was a day at sea on our way to the Panama Canal. As I am always on the lookout for wildlife from the ship, I spent a good while walking around deck 3 keeping my eyes peeled. And when I saw that we were being accompanied by quite a few birds alongside the ship, I started watching more closely. It seems like the ship was stirring the fish and allowing the birds to dive for them in quite spectacular fashion - a bit like gannets back home. Most of the birds were brown boobys which we have seen before, but then after a bit they were joined by this lovely white one which turned out to be a masked booby. It was all on its own but stuck around for ages. We also saw flying fish, a sea turtle, a shark and large pod of dolphins which were too far off to photograph but great to watch with the binoculars. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.