Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Building

"If you build it, they will come."
It is definitely the ethos adopted by the city I live in!

I had a very good (and short) day at work today. After all these weeks, I felt appreciated by the person I report to!

It wasn't planned, but G & I drove over to Festival City mainly to do a little shop at Carrefour, but it was coming up to lunchtime, so we ate at their newly refurbished and much expanded Food Court. Vanelli's was the eatery chosen, mainly for their lunch deal. £3 for freshly cooked pasta, and it was delicious!

There is a LEGO Festival taking place in the mall and this model of the Burj Khalifa is extremely impressive. It's made of transparent bricks and is more detailed than the other models which just give impressions of the iconic buildings they are modelled on. A bit like life really... It suddenly occurred to me that we are constantly building, physically, spiritually, in relationships etc etc etc. We've got to start with a solid foundation and not be like the man we sang about at AWANA this evening... "the foolish man built his house upon the sand..." Ironic for where I live - in a sandy desert, full of skyscrapers. Our 828m high tower took years to come out of the ground because of the 50m deep foundation that had to be put in place for it. I found this documentary about it on YouTube. The relevant part is about 32 minutes in.

What exactly am I getting at? Anything that is built well can't be taken apart easily and will stand the test of time... much like making the right choices in life, LEGO and their little unbreakable plastic bricks and building your house upon THE ROCK.

I hope you have a really good weekend. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.