High Street scene, Maidstone

We woke to find no central heating and Susan used up the remaining hot water. I went to Rock Choir with a lick and a promise and a few yards behind her, sitting in splendid isolation in the back row feeling a little like Pig Pen in Peanuts.

This sort of thing often happens when something has been serviced or looked at. The pilot light had gone out overnight. I couldn’t get it to light again.Fortunately, the gasman came out this evening and with rapid firing of the ignition button got it to light. So I’m first in the shower this evening. Every year we expect this to be the end of our boiler - we’ve been here 19 years and the boiler was installed well before that so whatever happens it’s done well.

We remained in town after Rock Choir for lunch as I had a NHS Health Check this afternoon. Apparently, you’re entitled to a check every 5 years from 40 to 74. I first went at 60. Good news! A clean bill of health. Triple ticks on Green. It I’ll be just my luck to be run over by the proverbial bus. It was in town where this damp street scene attracted my attention for today’s blip.

Booked flights back to California for September this afternoon to see Chris and Landon. We’re both going this time. I’m going to work on getting my other son to travel over there as he’s had an invitation from Chris. Perhaps he and I could go next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.