Controlled Detonation

This is old news to anyone in the area. Last Sunday the magnet fishing people pulled an old hand grenade from the river, and that evening they staged a controlled detonation of it. The sandbags they packed it in to blow it up are still there! It's opposite the chippy street and they had the road cordoned off. Shame it couldn't have been a work night so we could have shut the shop and gone home!

Today has been different because I haven't been to work. The Boss has decided he will do Friday and Saturday lunchtimes from now so Amir and I can have some time off. 

This has the dual objective of keeping us  quiet and breaking himself in gently for the Fortnight of Hell when Amir goes away. Amir says it may not be "just" a fortnight, as he is not coming back if things continue as they are. I too had already decided to hand in my notice if things are still the same come the end of February. I really want the chance to do other things apart from just work. Tomorrow I will be having another chat with Ahmed!

I was glad of the morning off, as the new Superleague season got underway last night, and  it gave me the opportunity to watch the recording of Wigan Warriors' (my team!) match against Warrington. It was an excellent, hard-hitting game! There is much room for improvement but the signs are promising and best of all, it was a win for the Warriors!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.